AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading up on tube gear, I am intrigued to try out tubes for the first time in my 2-channel system. As of right now, it is all solid state - I recently got hold of a Parasound JC2 preamp and A21 amp.

I'd like to incorporate something 'tubey' in there just to see for myself what the sound will be like. I am totally new to this, so I dont know where to begin. But I know that I only want to buy a single component for now, so...

Do you folks have an opinion on whether it would be 'better' in any way to use a tube preamp connected to the Parasound A21 amp vs a tube amp connected to the Parasound JC2 preamp? For those of you that love tubes, which method do you think would give you more of the 'tube sound'?

Another consideration - my JC2 is setup with an HT bypass, but since I am not using HT in this system yet, I am thinking it might be a neat option to find a tube preamp, send it through the JC2 bypass directly into the A21 amp. That way, there will be no needed movement of cables (connecting/disconnecting) in order to utilize both the solid state and tube components.

If those are both just bad or suboptimal choices, maybe I'll just look for an integrated tube amp? But again, I want to leave it at one component for now. Just want to start limiting my choices to one of the 3.

·
Registered
11,131 Posts
Tube Pre, into a SS Power amp is a classic combination. I think of it as the best of both worlds; sweet, tube sound, into a ss amp to muscle it around some...lol.

That being said, the JC2 is supposed to be a very good Pre. You just want to try it? Try a Pre; I'd recommend a Cary, ARC, or C-J.

CD

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
CDLehner-

Thanks for the opinion. And I have no complaints about the JC2. Just intrigued about tubes lately and want to see how they sound in comparison.

diomania-

Thanks for the links and I'll try to check those out.