AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was looking to buy a Kef KHT3005 for my entry-level home theater system, attached to an Onkyo 705 in my somewhat spacious apartment living room.

But one of the local stores has Kef KHT5005 5.1 demo set on sale for the same price as the 3005. I called them, and they said there are a few scuffs, but sound is supposedly ok and they come with full warranty.

A few questions before I go and demo their demo unit:

- Is the 5005 (or 3005) capable of producing good sound at reasonable volume? I live in an apartment, so I can't push them as loud as I'd like to.

- I'm a newbie to all this, so what should I look for and be wary of in a demo unit which has been in the store for "quite a while"?

- The floor stands are ridiculously expensive, a full set for the 7.1 I'm going to get would cost well over twice (!) the cost of the discounted speakers. Is this normal for Kef speakers, or a way for stores to raise their margins?

Thanks!

·
Registered
47 Posts
I'd jump on the 5005 over the 3005 in a heartbeat. (is the sub included? which one?) The 5005 are a great set. check *bay right now for the stands - some guy is selling them cheap (relatively).

An Onkyo 705 should have no problem with either set.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
291 Posts
Is the sale final if you buy it? if not...then just buy it..demo it in your home and see how it sounds. If it's to your liking perfect, if not...return it..

~G

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steenhoek27 /forum/post/12967419

I'd jump on the 5005 over the 3005 in a heartbeat. (is the sub included? which one?) The 5005 are a great set. check *bay right now for the stands - some guy is selling them cheap (relatively).

An Onkyo 705 should have no problem with either set.

Good Luck!

Yeah, that's what I thought as well. The sub is the UFO which belongs to the 5.1 set (5005.2 version), I believe, but I didn't ask.