AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to surround sound and would really appreciate any tips/ideas on this. We're getting ready to move into a home which has 5 eight inch flush-mount ceiling speakers in the living room (Speakercraft). There are 3 across the front of the room above the TV (left, right, center) and 2 in the rear (left, right). I've attached a diagram of how the room is setup.

I'm not planning to use the front, center ceiling speaker. I've purchased a Definitive Technology ProCenter1000, a Definitive Technology ProSub1000, and my receiver is a Sony STR-DH750 7.2. I currently do not have any normal front left/right speakers.

My questions are: Do you think this will sound okay without the normal front left/right speakers? If I use the front left/right ceilings as "front high", then does that mean that I won't be able to use the rear surrounds? My receiver has inputs for either front high, or rear surround so it doesn't appear that i could use both.

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
You should be able to use the rear surrounds regardless of if you use any of the front channels. It will depend on how it's wired, but it sounds like it's wired as 5.1 so you should be fine.

I would recommend against using only the front LR and not the center. If you're going to use the Definitive Technology center (a much better choice than the ceiling speaker) I would also recommend getting a pair of DT left/right speakers. A couple reasons.

First, the front left-center-right speakers should be as close to the same make & model as possible so they sound the same. When action or voices move around onscreen, you want them to sound the same regardless of where they are coming from. Using different types/models/manufacturers of speakers is not a good idea.