AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Below are some pics of my theater room. I'm new to DIY subs, but have built many enclosures for cars over the years, and reading the forums recently has got me highly motivated.
I'm considering adding two 85 liter sealed enclosures up front in the Salamander cabinet to the right and left of the center channel. The cabinets are super sold, with all doors and sides being perforated, and I've run subs in the cabinets before.

I originally considered Ultimax 15s, but lately I've been interested in the HST-15s Nick has available (not listed on the site). They have the same power handling and Xmax as the HST-18 and work well 85 liter enclosure. They have higher SPL than the UM-15 at about 28 hz and below in that 85 liter enclosure with RMS rated watts.

I'm wondering if it might make sense to go with a lessor driver and use four of them in the home theater? The room is only 11'4" x 21'9" x 8'. The second set of subs would go behind the theater sofa, but not sure if that's even the route to take. Any thoughts on the best setup here? My priorities are sound quality, low end extension, SPL and max 85L enclosures (19.25"x19.25"x20" flat packs). I tend to prefer sealed enclosures. Thanks for any advice you can give.

Attachments

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
As I think about this more, I guess the real question is..."Since the price of the Stereo Integrity HST-15 is double for the subs+cabinets and 50% more for amp power, is the increase in cone excursion and 10-28hz SPL worth the additional cost for the purpose of watching movies at high volumes?"

Attachments

·
Registered
35 Posts
I have not built any subs using SI drivers, But I have with the Ultimax. I currently am running 2 sealed um15s in front and 1 large ported um15 back left. Must have gotten lucky that they play very well together (sealed and ported). I smile every time I listen to music or movies.

·