AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete newbie when it comes to HT/HA, so this seemed like the best place to get some feedback from the more experienced enthusiast on my upcoming plans. I'm pretty experienced when it comes to computer hardware & software (A+ certified, been avidly reading comp. tech sites since '96 etc). BTW, I created a similar thread (altho dumber still) under general HT before finding this more appropriate forum. Let me know if I'm supposed to do something to close that thread.

I'm planning on redoing my HT setup in the next few months. I've spent about 15 hours reading threads here and am not much closer to getting to work than I was when I started. I was hoping to get some general advice based on my needs and budget so I know exactly what I'm looking for and about how much I can/should spend on each component. First of all, I don't think anything in my current setup is worth reusing except the monitor and hdd from my music server and possibly my dvd player and TV.

My system will be set up in the furnished basement of my house. The dimensions of the room are approximately 14.5' x 40'. For the previous setup, we put all the HT equipment in the first 4' of the long side the room, then cornered a 14.5' x 14.5' square area by the (4) speakers. This worked alright for movies&TV and was also acceptable for the parties we throw every couple weeks, in which we'd want the music to penetrate 20' past the rear speakers (there could be over a hundred people crammed into the basement for a large party). When working on a wall in the basement I decided to run RCA audio cable the 40' length of the wall, so I could someday put speakers at the back for parties, but have not yet done this.