AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie looking to set up a 5.1 system. I've got about a $1500 budget for both receiver and speakers (not sure how best to split that up). It's going into a large living room with cathedral ceiling (20x24) and wood floors adjacent to an open kitchen (20x14). This system will be used as much, or more, for music as for movies/TV (no gaming).

I know speakers are subjective but I'm looking for suggestions to get started--brands ("you can't go wrong with X" "stay away from Y), models, places to shop, things to read, etc. Consumer Reports praised the Sony SSM-F750 floor (~$280) as a great value but then I come here and read otherwise. I'm also encountering a lot brands I've never heard of here. What's a newbie to do?!

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
303 Posts
The best things to read would be this forum.

I like audio magazines and looking at all the pretty pictures and reading the reviews but you will generally find better info here.

Find specialty audio shops and bring your favorite cds and listen. Even bring a dvd if you like. Don't get intimidated if you encounter snooty sales people.

If you can't find any specialty audio shops or you just don't like what you hear there, find a magnolia or tweeter or circuit city etc and listen there.

Do you have to buy the whole 5.1 set up right now?

You could spend 200-$400 on a reciever and a nice pair of speakers.

You will get much better quality and the upgrade bug will not get you so early on, especially if you are a music lover. I can't stress how important a good set of mains are for someone who cares about music, everything else is window dressing and personal preference.

I would personally stay away from anything audio by sony. I would generally stay away from any 5.1 set up that comes all packaged in a box. Oh, and don't fall for bose, no matter how good they tell you they are.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·