AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 157 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So im new to nice home theater stuff. I have been doing a bit of research. As of now i have no budget just because i haven't created one.

My ideal setup would consist of a 5.1 setup. I would like a a quality set of front speakers, the surrounds aren't as important to me. I have thought about buying a sub driver and building my own box and getting and amp but as of now i am thinking of going for a powered sub (i would love to have a sunfire sub). Then i would like a 5.1 amp and a pre amp. I am willing to get used or new. used you can obviously get great stuff at cheaper prices especially with speakers since a quality set of speakers maintains its quality sound throughout the years. my first goal are speakers.

Used or new it doesnt matter. im mainly wondering what are some good brands. There are so many and so many great speakers but for me im looking for the best bang for my buck. I would say my price point for two front speakers and a center is definitely under 1k. Right now im thinking bookshelf speakers as opposed to floor ones. It doesnt seem like floor ones are That much better than bookshelf when they are around the same price. Plus im guessing a decent size bookshelf set is more than loud enough with a good AVR or AMP. Again used or new doesnt matter. any ideas for good models good brands?

ive heard good things about the Polk Audio RTi A1 Loudspeakers, also the PSB Alpha B1 Loudspeakers, Totem Dream catchers, Ascents.

Im thinking if i bought a brand new set of bookshelf speakers not including the center i wouldnt spend more than 500. And i there is the possibility of getting ones worth more than that for under 500 used.

·
Registered
3,134 Posts
I'd add Paradigm to the list - though Totems are nice too and so are the PSB's.

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·