Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a newb to this forum and I am buying a cheap, temporary front projector this week. I am not ready to buy a screen, but I would like to make an inexpensive one that'll get me by for a few months and I need some questions answered.

I'm familiar with movies that don't have the perfect fit in 16:9 format (some movies still have black bars) and I need to know how to measure a screen to accommodate all 16:9 aspect ratios. The screen size will be over 100". What aspect ratio is required? For example, 2.35:1 would be 235" X 100"... please correct me if I'm wrong.

I will be mounting a board and painting it. What's the best paint I can use? How should it be applied? Keep in mind, I live in Canada and I'm not exposed to some American brands. If a board isn't your cats meow, I'm open to other suggestions.

Also, I've noticed that a lot of you have created a border for the screen. What benefits does this have? What material should I use?

I'm new to this whole concept, so if I've forgotten anything, please enlighten me. I'm very eager to learn more and all of your shared experiences and recommendations are welcome.

Thanks, I appreciate your help.

Matt

·
Registered
27,569 Posts
Use the search function here.

This topic has been addressed a multitude of times. You should be able to find out all of what you are looking for.

Good Luck

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·