AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A newbie here. I currently have a Sony HTiB that I bought just to use it as an HDMI switch and also support Multichannel LPCM for my HTPC and PS3.

I'm planning to upgrade my system, but I'm not rich like you guys, so the idea is to upgrade the speakers first and use the amplifier until I can buy a new one.

First, I would like to buy the center and/or the fronts, I'm learning toward the Energy minis, Polk RTiA3s, SVS SBS01 or even JBL ES80, but that's different matter.

The amplifier specifications:

Stereo: 84 W + 84 W (3 omhs at 170-20,000 Hz, THD 1%)

Surround mode: RMS Output (3 omhs at 1 Khz, THD 10%). Front: 143 W/ch, center: 143 W/ch

Surround: 143 W/ch (1.5 omhs at 80 Hz, THD 10%)

From what I've learned there's no danger to damage the amplifier if I use an 8 omhs speaker, but:

Question 1: Can the amplifier damage the speakers?

I know that I'm no gonna get full quality sound using the current amplifier, but:

Question 2: will there be any improvement/sound with the new speakers?

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Denophile,

Some speakers have specifications of 8 omhs, but also a 4 omhs as minimum impedance. My amplifier has a rating of 3 omhs, I understand this is just an average and the impedance is variable, but does this has any effect on the speaker?

Thanks again.

·
Premium Member
5,900 Posts
I'd suggest that if you're going to upgrade your speakers and still use the HTIB receiver section, I'd look at speakers that are as sensitive as possible, within reason. Also, I question the power/frequency response spec. If it's 170 Hz-20 kHz as you state, I assume that's because of the subwoofer taking over below that relatively high LF rolloff.