AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon,

I just started having some trouble with my normally reliable Aiwa AV-D67 receiver. When I push the power button all I get is 2-3 rapid, sharp clicks from near the back of the unit and sometimes a quick surge of the display lighting. Up until yesterday this had never occurred and I've been using a robust surge protector so I don't imagine that there were any issues there. Any insight or advice is appreciated. I'm an AV novice so please be gentle!

Thanks,

Jeff

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have the same exact problem as you with the av-d67. never had any other problem, did you figure it out? Someone help please!!!

thanks!!!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Jeff,

New to the forum. FYI I had same issue with my AV-D67 about 15 months ago. Was in shop for 2 months and still not sure what was done or reason for initial failure. Has been working fine until a recent power outage and now back in same situation. Researched lots of information and forums with no success. Did you get your issue resolved. Any feedback/comments from anyone is appreciated. Probably will just replace but did like the unit.

Happy Trails,

Jim

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hey guys, I'm new here and just ran into this thread. I had the same problem with my AV-D67, started when I'd had it around 4 years.

The problem is with a magnetic switch that is used for the onboard circuit surge protection. The solution I came up with puts you at risk from a surge, but I wasn't worried since I have it plugged into an excellent surge protector.

I opened up the case and where the power cable comes into the unit I by-passed the switch that clicks by taking the metal connector and soldering it directly to the power connector.

It's really obvious what to do if you open the case and look/hear what happens when you try to power it on.

·
Registered
1 Posts