AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure if this is the right forum to ask this, and if it isn't let me know and I'll post elsewhere.

Anyway, I need an amp to drive 3 sets of bass shakers, not the pros. I would like to be able to hide the amp under my couch/loveseat. However, I have never used an amp before. I am afraid of it over heating. I do not want to be watching a movie and suddenly burst into flames.

I am also unsure how to hook them up. I was looking at the amps at parts express, the plate sub-woofer amps (250w & 120w).

Any suggestions on an amp (that would fit under a couch safely) would be great. Also, since I have never used an amp before, let alone really seen one up close, explicit instructions on connections or links to sites that do that would also be great. (I'm just getting away from the Best Buy consumer friendly way of HT and am trying to get into a more do it yourself approach.)

thanks

·
Registered
763 Posts
Welcome to the Forum Spanc.

I have two Aura Bass Shakers that I pulled out of Aura Interactor vests that I purchased on e-bay. I use the small amp that is supplied with the vest which may only be 25 watts. I split the LFE on my receiver so that one line goes to my sub and the other goes to the amp for the shakers. This tiny amp gives all the shake that I need on my couch and hides nicely right behind it as well.

You may also want to look at this thread as it may provide some useful insite. I think that I may have some wiring links at home (I'm at work now) so I may post again with some additional links.

Enjoy your shakers, they are a great addition to your experience.

-T.Wells

·
Registered
766 Posts
What do you mean by sets? Do you mean 3 pairs? Will they all go in one couch/loveseat? I will assume you mean 3 pairs for this discussion.