AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I recently purchased an Audio Source AMP 100 stereo amplifier to increase the volume for my record player. I just got a Sony record player and have been running it through a standard Insignia receiver. The sound is good, but the volume is quite low especially for 180 g records. I thought that the solution would be to buy an amplifier, hook it up, and the record player would play louder. Did I mention that I am a home stereo novice?

The first plan I had was to hook the record player into the input of the amplifier, and then the output of the amplifier into the receiver. As you may have guessed since I am asking for advice...this didn't do too much.

Next, I tried hooking the record player up to the receiver, then the receiver to the amplifier and hook up my speakers to the amplifier, but again nothing. This configuration does amplify the hell out of my cd player, and the tuner, but not so much for the record player.

Am I overlooking something obvious? Did I buy the wrong equipment?

Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated.

If you need more information about the equipment, just let me know.

Thanks.

·
Registered
5,562 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by perdian /forum/post/14169537

Hello All,

The first plan I had was to hook the record player into the input of the amplifier, and then the output of the amplifier into the receiver. As you may have guessed since I am asking for advice...this didn't do too much.

Next, I tried hooking the record player up to the receiver, then the receiver to the amplifier and hook up my speakers to the amplifier, but again nothing. This configuration does amplify the hell out of my cd player, and the tuner, but not so much for the record player.

If you need more information about the equipment, just let me know.

Thanks.

a record player (aka turntable with cartridge) needs a phono input on amp or receiver in order to work properly.