AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a rookie needing some help. Currently I have Adelphia Cable with channels 100 and above in digital quality and the rest being analog. I want to purchase an HDTV monitor but am concerned about how the analog quality channels will look on this type of tv. I have been told that analog reception will look worse on an HDTV monitor than a regular tv. Is this true and is the purchase worth it?

I know satellite is a better option since all channels are digital but I have a bundled package with the cable modem and dont want to switch.

Over the weekend I watched a football game on a RCA HDTV monitor with a digital picture through Directv and must say I was dissapointed with the quality. It seems that as the players were in motion the picture became distorted. Is this common?

Finally is there any difference in picture quality between digital cable and satellite?

Thanks,

·
Registered
33 Posts
My friend has a Hitachi 51UWX20B and has analog cable through Charter. I saw it for the first time yesterday and I must say the quality is sub-par. The higher resolution of the TV reveals how grainy the picture really is. I wouldn't be able to stand to watch it for very long.

·
Registered
1,161 Posts
It seems as if only the top HDTV's such as the Pioneer Elite and Mitsubishi Diamond series do an acceptable job on regular TV. You need a set that has an excellent line doubler and strech modes. the lesser sets usually don't have good enough of either to make a satisfactory image.

·
Registered
535 Posts
Best thing to do is find small local store that displays sets with same local cable system that you have to see if it is exceptable to you. Most larger chain stores only display dvd or special hd feed to their sets so they shine.

·
Registered
2,118 Posts
nastasi500: