AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
517 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am receiving my dish 6000 system tomorrow. I need to set up the dish 300 to point to 61.5. Here are my questions

1) besides the dish/receiver what else do I need? A compass, cables or do they come in the package?

2) I think I can figure out the azimuth and elevation from the receiver set up screen by putting in my zip code? How do you set it on the dish? Is there a dial or something on the dish?

3) How hard is it to connect the various pieces of the dish? I have never done anything like this before and I am not eligible for the new customer dish install.

Thanks for your help in advance.

------------------

Eram

---------------------

TV=Sony 53HS10, DVD=Sony DVP-550D, CD=Sony CDP-C335, DSS=Dish PVR 501, Receiver=Marantz S5000, Speakers=JBL M28, JBL PSW-D110, VCR=Panasonic PV-V4620

·
Registered
80 Posts
From my recent experience you need:

1 A compass and RG6 cable with an "F" type connector on each end to connect the dish LNB to the 6000. The 6000 is delivered with all the video cables you need including the YPrPb coax's

2 I have a 500 dish but the 300 should be similar. There is an calibrated (in degrees) elevation adjustment which you set to the coordinates from the TV screen and then tighten the clamps. You need to use the compass to set the azimuth using the LNB support as the center line.

3 Its relatively easy to assemble and connect, you need a Philips head screwdriver and a couple of AF wrenches but I found it very very difficult to acquire the Satellite when I had the Sat Dish on a tripod.

Hope this will help

Keith

·
Registered
2,082 Posts