AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received my Model C 119 Hi Power screen recently. There are some observations I would like to share.

About Myself:

I am a hi-tech engineering professional. Product design and quality is a big part of my job (and my second nature). When I look at something, I am automatically drawn to the defects, the un-uniformity, the out-of-norm details. I have a critical eye when it comes to safety and the things I like. People often accuse me of being a perfectionist. And I almost never do things out of manufacturer's recommendation. (going with Hi Power is a rare deviation from my personality).

About my Stuff

I have a Panny 300U, ceiling mounted, about 6 1/2 feet off the ground and 14 ft from the screen. My room is about 22 ft wide, 19 ft deep without any window and with total light control. I sit about 16 ft back

I have been using the Panny for about 4 months with a Da Lite matte while screen. It is a very good screen. Color is accurate. Viewing cone seems to be 180 degrees. Contrast is very good. Brightness is uniform. This is the safe bet. However, my screen is in 4X3 format and badly wrinkle (this is a thrown away screen from a friend).

The decision process

I approached the screen buying process as an ignorant consumer. But like everything else, I did exhaustive research to get to the decision. Reading this forum is a big part of my research. The first step was to get some samples. I called Da Lite to ask for samples of HCCV, HCMW and hi contrast Da Mat. I did not consider Hi Power, but at last second on the phone with Da Lite, I asked the Rep to also send a Hi Power sample, just for the heck of it, I thought.