AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From everything I've read on this forum, you need to avoid any type of static image to avoid burn in.

I know this means that one cannot watch too much 4:3 mode on a widescreen as the grey bars it projects can cause burn in.

However, what about standard 4:3 screens when watching 16:9/letterbox format such as movies? This results in "blocking off" a portion of the screen. Any concern in this situation?

If this is a really stupid question, excuse my ignorance. I'm new to all of this and am trying to learn as much as possible before making any purchase.

Thanks

Steven

· Registered
13,761 Posts
If your settings are correct, and I mean reference settings, not settings that are pumped up in any way, then you should be OK. I've had my 16X9 TV for 8 months and about 50% of my viewing is 2.35:1 films and there is not a hint of any burnin at all. Nothing. I have a friend with a 64" Pioneer and he watches a LOT of 2.35:1 material and has had no burnin after 2 years.

It's all in how you adjust the settings. Torch Mode = You will have burnin.

· Registered
1,031 Posts