AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this home theater thing and I was wondering if some of you more experienced people could give me some recommendations. Pretty much the only condition is that my wife won't let me have wires running to the back speakers. I know this eliminates a lot but whatever the wife says goes. For this reason, I'm thinking of only getting 2 fronts and a center channel right now....and possibly a sub.

TV ROOM- 12 foot ceilings, sit 15 feet from tv (also depth of room) and the room extends very long but my tv setup is pushed into one corner. Think large rectangle with kitchen and dining connected on the right and tv room pushed all the way into front left corner. So speakers would face a wall that is about 15 away but to the right the room is wide open.

PRICE - need to keep it under $1000. I have a kenwood receiver right now, but the impedence is only 6 ohms...will this be a problem? If I need a new receiver I might possibly go slightly above $1000

I listen to some music, but it will most be for movies and digital cable. The split would probably be 70% dig cable/20% movies/ 10% music.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations!

·
Registered
2,117 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by pronkster /forum/post/0

Pretty much the only condition is that my wife won't let me have wires running to the back speakers. I know this eliminates a lot but whatever the wife says goes.

One pair of good floorstanders, and up your budget so you get something half way decent. Sorry about your situation with the wife.

·
Registered
934 Posts
pronkster, I think you are on the right track thinking fronts, center and sub. I'd definitely go with a center channel given your room configuration. You have quite a few choices for a 3.1 set up for $1000, and some are even half way decent imho.