AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I searched and read a lot (including the 20+ page post) on this subject, but I am not a network expert by any stretch and things are not working.

Got a 2nd RTV 45x unit and went out and bought 2 Buffalo wireless routers. All I have to connect is 2 RTVs, a playstation and a wireless laptop.

Living room:

Cable Model

Buffalo1

RTV1

Playstation

Bedroom:

Buffalo2

RTV2

I tried a bunch of stuff but wasn't able to get this working. I gather that WDS needs to be checked on both and that the wireless MAC ID of Buffalo 2 is added to Buffalo 1 and vice versa.

There are a lot of DHCP settings and I have no idea what I am supposed to toggle off where and on which Buffalo. Any other settings I need to play with?

I know I basically have the most simple set up possible, but I am having problems none the less. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok. Thanks. That got me 1/2 way there.

Followed the FAQ and got a good ping both ways - from Buffalo 1 to 2 and back. RTV1 sees and can stream from RTV 2. RTV 2 does not see RTV1 and does not detect the network. So I cannot even get guide data etc. It searches and gives me an error and then a blank network page where I tried a bunch of values without sucess.

Living room (all work perfectly):

Cable Model -> Buffalo1 -> RTV1 and Playstation and wirelessly to Laptop

Bedroom:

RTV2 into the LAN 1 slot on Buffalo2. Nothing anywhere else. Nothing in the WAN slot.

So I think the only issue is the RTV2 set-up maybe? As per the FAQ, I changed the IP address of Buffalo2 to 192.168.11.100 (from .1). Everything else stayed the same. Turned DHCP off as per the FAQ. So RTV2 searched for a network and can't find anything. It then leads me to a screen with blanks for:

IP:

Netmask:

Gateway:

DNS1:

DNS2: