AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm about to enter the world of HDTV and would like some antenna advice. I'm approximately 65 miles NW of Phila at an elevation of about 700 feet. I need a UHF/VHF antenna with a rotor and preamp. I plan to mount the antenna on the roof. Any opinions on the Channel Master 3020? Is that more antenna than I need? Any suggestions and advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. I will be hooking up to a DISH 6000.

·
Registered
5,329 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Bromley:
Any opinions on the Channel Master 3020? Is that more antenna than I need? Any suggestions and advice would be greatly appreciated.
Bromley, I have no experience with the 3020. 65 miles is a long haul for UHF. Do a search for on this forum for Philadelphia and see what turns up.

For a rotor try the Channel Master Model 9521, available at Consumer Direct or Stark Electronics .

You can change the direction by entering the compass heading as a three digit number. Another method is to memorize the compass heading for each of your stations, then to change the heading for the desired station all you need to enter is the corresponding stations two digit number.

The IR system will emulate a couple of Pioneer products. This will allow most universal remotes to control your rotor. More info at Channel Master or this one to go direct to 9521 info

------------------

Wendell

Technical Services Supervisor

MAETV

·
Registered
199 Posts
How much of a factor are the trees with UHF? At rooftop one still has to deal with them. Do the longer Yagi's actually repel interference from them?

------------------

hermithill

·
Registered
1,084 Posts