AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering putting an antenna for HDTV reception in my attic but my HDTV is in a finished basement. Running antenna cable will be almost impossible. However, I currently have a couple of Cat 5e cable runs between the two areas. Can I use this cable to run the signal between the antenna and the HDTV receiver? Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance,

Alex

·
Registered
739 Posts
I am not famliar with Cat 5e cable, but if the impedance is 75 ohms, and i shielded, I think it may.

Bill

·
Registered
606 Posts
Cat 5e is ethernet networking cable(or office phone system cable). I don't think it can carry the antenna signal, but i'm no expert.

Dug

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
Sorry, CAT5e won't work, at least not real well.

It's unshielded twisted pair, balanced cable, intended for data transmission. Characteristics impedance is 135 ohms, I believe. So at your antenna, you'd need a 300 ohm-balanced-to-135-ohm-balanced transformer, and then a 135-ohm-balanced-to-75-ohm-unbalanced transformer at the receiver. I don't think these are off-the-shelf items, certainly not at consumer price points.

But aside from that, CAT5e is only specified for up to about 100 MHz, about the FM radio band. Above thiat, attenuation increases rapidly. Even the guys I know looking at "exotic" applications for CAT5e aren't trying to push it above 400 MHz. The UHF band, where most DTV stations are, starts above this. So unless you're in a very strong signla location, the signal would be very weak by the time it got to the receiver.

Getting this to work would be an exercise in electrical engineering: matching the impedances, proper level of preamplification to compensate for cable loss (if possible), etc. In other words, definitely a "kids, don't try this at home" deal.