AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Radio Shack VU-90XR that does a great job most of the time for DTV stations here in Hampton Roads, VA. My biggest problem is dealing with multipath signals that occur on some of the stations depending on weather conditions. What I would like to do is narrow the beam width on this antenna somewhat to both increase the gain and reduce the sensitivity to ghost signals. All the transmitters are located in less than a 10 degree arc from my location.

Question: Can I decrease the beam width by adding more directors to the from of the antenna? Based on what information I have been able glean from several sites this seems like the right approach but I have seen nothing definitive. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
150 Posts
I am not an electrical engineer, I'm a Mech E. But I have a copy of the antenna engineering handbook. If you are going to mess around with your antenna, so should you. I got my copy at the library.

The table of interest to you will be "Optimized Lengths of Parasitic Dipoles for Yagi-Uda Array Antennas of 6 different lengths".

It appears to me that, as the number of directors is increased (and the length of the antenna increases), the length of the reflector may increase, but the lengths of the different directors may decrease. It says in the text that the length of the driven diplole has little impact on the gain.

Now, this was in the text for a single channel Yagi, god knows how a broadband one would operate. Is there any link on the Internet so I can take a look at this antenna?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Using the same RS antenna. All other channels are fine except CBS 2 in Chicago.

I live up north near GURNEE, IL. I initially pointed to CBS chicago with no luck and tried pointing North (5 deg) to Milwaukee. No luck.

·
Registered
4,894 Posts