Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anthem AVM 20 DD, dts, THX EX, 7.1 pre amp pre processor

11 days later. No change in the following opinion.

I made better speaker cables and bought better main interconnects. My listening room seems to have innately good acoustic properties. But, I did put some foam in the corners and cushions on the hardwood between the speakers (no wife). These tweaks have improved the sound quality.

Cost List C$ 4,400 to 4,500 (USD$ 3,100) -- Street about C$ 4,000 – 4,100

Caveat: As you can easily discern, I am very pleased with the AVM 20 :D . I am not an acoustic engineer and this is my first review. I should have more negative things to say about it. Maybe, gremlins will surface in time. If so, I will update this review.

Equipment:

DVD/CD transport: Sony DVP S570D with digital coax into AVM 20

Amps/speakers: Classe CA 101 (2 x 100 w) bi-wired into Paradigm Studio 60s, Bryston 5B ST (3 x 120 w) into Paradigm Studio CC center channel and Studio ADP bipolar surrounds, Paradigm PW 2200 (12" 250 w) sub-woofer, Denon 3200 (85 w) into Angstrom Omega 5 rears, Acoustic Research inter-connects, DIY cross connected dual coax speaker cables (Jon Risch recipe from audio asylum).

HT

Material: The flamenco and car chase scenes from MI 2, opening battle and first arena scene from Gladiator, opening battle from Saving Private Ryan, The Phantom Menace, Hell Freezes Over, Roy Orbison Black and White, depth charge sequence from U 571, helicopter rescue from Matrix, 5th element (dts), and some others.