AVS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I'm new to this world of HD devices, so my questions are very basic.

I will buy the Paradigm Signature S8 front speakers, and I need to know:

a) I have been reading great things about the Anthem D2 & P5, but do I need them both to fully use and enjoy my Signature S8?

b) If I have to choose between the D2 & P5, which one should I buy first?

c) Do you recommend to me, the Anthem D2, P5 and Paradigm Signature S8?

Strauss.

·
Registered
807 Posts
I'm not trying to tell you that you NEED both, but if you had to buy one first I would suggest the p5 since it probably won't be changing anytime soon. The D2 on the other hand could be getting an HDMI upgrade.

·
Read the FAQ!
35,731 Posts
The D2 is a "pre-amp/processor". It handles audio and video processing from your various source devices. But it does not include power amplification for your speakers.

The P5 is a 5 channel audio power amplifier.

Contrast with an audio-video "receiver" product (an "AVR") which includes speaker power amps inside the same chassis with its audio and video processing functions.

So you can't use the D2 alone -- it needs to be paired with an amp for your speakers. The P5 is a pretty special amp. You could start with a less exotic multi-channel amp to begin. The D2 will pair up with any reasonable speaker power amp. [NOTE: The D2 is actually capable of driving 7 speakers (and a subwoofer which usually contains its own built in power amp). So if you are considering a 7.1 speaker setup, you will actually need 7 channels of audio amplification. For example combining an Anthem P5 and P2 with the D2.]

You could, on the other hand, get the amp and pair it with any simpler pre-amp/processor for now. But you will definitely need at least the basic functions -- source selection, volume control and the like -- which a processor provides. So you can't use the P5 power amp alone either.