AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering what others are using for antivirus protection on their HTPC? I have used AVG, Norton, Avast, and Windows Defender and Essentials in the past on my other PC's and it seems like windows essentials is the least intrusive. Can I get some suggestions based on others experiences? I have Windows 7 Home Premiun 64 bit and will be using WMC with a HDHomerun connect tuner. May add XMBC/Kodi in the future. Mainly using as a OTA DVR recorder and to watch live TV. Also thoughts on Malwarebytes Premium? I just received a 20% off offer from them so I could get a license for 3 computers for $19.95 for the first year. Will it cause any problems with WMC?
Thanks

·
Registered
158 Posts
I've been using Microsoft Security Essentials for a few years now and like you said, it seems like it's the least intrusive. I've had no problems with it and I really like it and I am comfortable recommending it to the people who ask me for advice on computer stuff. Before that I used Avast, AVG and Avira. (Norton, too, but that was long long ago.)

My question to you would be, is there something about MSE or the others you mentioned that you DON'T like?

As for Malwarebytes, does Premium do antivirus or is it just for malware?

·
Registered
3,565 Posts
I'm fine with MSE for casual use PCs. Sometimes, the real-time protection is turned off (for no apparent reason) after booting into Windows and you have to enable it. It is by far the least intrusive/noticed security program I've ever seen, but according to tests, it's also one of the worst. Despite that, I'd still use it simply because it's free and integrates well with Windows.

·
Registered
7,909 Posts
^^
I use MSE on HTPCs because I very, very rarely use them for browsing. AVG Free on workstations, because it's caught stuff that MSE let through.

·
Registered
15,075 Posts