AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the BD section of this forum.

I have a Hd-A2 and my wife and I have decided that with the movies out there we really want to be format neutral since there are movies we love on both formats.

So we've decided to buy a BD player.

We've got $500-750 we can spend on a BD player.

However has to be purchased from TVAuthority.

Are there any cheaper maybe G2 players on the horizon?

I could get a samsung from TVA but I hear that's not the best option.

I kinda like the philips but there seems to be availability problems with that one.

So can anyone tell me whats comming down the pipe in the next say 2 months? Anything more reasonably priced?

I've already got 4 BD discs sitting at home taunting me(next to about 23 HD-DVD)

as soon as we can get a decent BD player we'll be going on a shopping spree for BD software.

thanks for the info.

·
Registered
1,511 Posts
Welcome Sky. I don't know anything about TVA but don't they sell the PS3? It's by far the best and cheapest PS3 player you can buy.

The new Samsung has a MSRP of $800 and the current one can be found online for $500, the phillips for $600. The original Sammy is fine from various reports. Not the best but not far off of it either. Of course it lacks a few features that the new model will have.

Is there a particular reason it has to be bought at TVA?

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaj /forum/post/0

Welcome Sky. I don't know anything about TVA but don't they sell the PS3? It's by far the best and cheapest PS3 player you can buy.

The new Samsung has a MSRP of $800 and the current one can be found online for $500, the phillips for $600. The original Sammy is fine from various reports. Not the best but not far off of it either. Of course it lacks a few features that the new model will have.