AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I followed a thread (that is now 9 months old) discussing the lack of 1080P 120Hz projectors (2D). I was wondering if anyone knows of any new projectors out there that can take 1080P at 120Hz. I'm using the BenQ W1070 and the motion blur/choppy refresh is really annoying/headachey during gameplay (I'm guessing it's 60Hz).

If no 1080P 120Hz projectors exist in the consumer market, what would be a major upgrade in the motion blur department? I'm an electrical engineer, so I wouldn't mind doing some hacking to achieve my goal.

I'm not interested in 3D at all, but I would love to upgrade to a 1080P 120Hz projector, or something with some sort of interpolation.

On another note, are there any 2560x1600 or 1920x1200 projectors at the consumer level that have decent contrast?

·
Banned
10,827 Posts
You're using a DLP projector which has (by far) better motion resolution than any LCD-type display on the market. There is no "added" blur on visible level with a DLP projector. Native grey to grey response times of DLP DMDs are 16 microseconds, compare that to a good LCD at around 2 milliseconds and that equates to 25 times faster. As far as 1080p native projectors go you're stuck at 60hz input. This is due to input board and video processing choices by the manufacturer. There are a few 2560 x 1600 DLP projectors out there that net somewhere around 3000:1 native contrast but they're expensive. Digital Projections and ProjectionDesign have models at this resolution.

·
Registered
1,575 Posts
There is no "added" blur on visible level with a DLP projector. Native grey to grey response times of DLP DMDs are 16 microseconds, compare that to a good LCD at around 2 milliseconds and that equates to 25 times faster.