AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to HD gaming, but I think this is a good TV for the price range.

I have a few questions. :)

Is it me, or is there not a BIG difference when displaying games in "Interlaced", as opposed to "progressive" in the DRC menu? Granted, this television looks MUCH better than even my old, high-end analog TV, I can't help but wonder if 720p will be the big difference maker for games. Any other tips for tuning this, or similar Sony HDTV's for gaming? :)

· Registered
980 Posts
I have the its big brother, the 36hs500. It looks amazing with progressive video games (especially xbox games). However the set will not display a 720p signal, it will convert it to 1080i (which still looks very good). The "interlaced" and "progressive" settings in the DRC menu do not have a significant effect when viewing standard definition cable. I use the cinemotion setting when I watch DVD's because I'm still using an interlaced DVD player and this setting is supposed to apply reverse 3:2 pulldown. Unless you are getting a great deal you may want to wait for the new line which is supposed to have better features.

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by Wakey
I'm not sure that you will notice a difference between 720p & 480p on a 32" 4:3 tube TV. I have the 53" RPTV & 480p looks stunning (I don't have 720 either).
Actually, I think games look much better on Tube TV's.

What I was saying was, I don't see a big difference on this particular model between 480i and 480p, although even 480i looks considerably better on my HDTV than my old analog component connection.

· Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by DooDoo