AVS Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this HDMI Switcher/7.1 audio extractor from ebay. And it seemed like a good price, especially since I didn't want to wait until January for octava's product.

I'm too new to post a url but you can google it. Here is a non-clickable url: h t t p: //gomax-electronics.com.tw/Product/vconverter/CV505/cv505.htm

Anyhow, the user manual is very ambiguous and I'm not exactly sure how to use some of the features. Namely the 2 push buttons on the front and the EDID learning. Here is a non-clickable link to the user manual so you can see what I mean. h t t p: //gomax-electronics.com.tw/download/manual/CV-505_HDMI%201.3%20Audio%20Extractor%20User%20Manual.pdf

It says it's HDCP compliant, and I have been able to use the blu-ray and 7.1 audio from that, however I cannot seem to get the xbox 360 to work with it on the 2nd input switch. I get no video or sound from the xbox.

I'm VERY new to hdmi and switching for my HT setup, so please bare with me. Any help will be very much appreciated.

I welcome all input, even if it is to tell me to cut my losses and toss this thing and go for the octava here: h t t p: //octavainc.com/HDMI%20switch%204x2_7_1audio.html

·
Registered
631 Posts
are you able to get HD audio through hdmi in on the unit and out analog to receiver ?

man, how much was it ?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Just to add to this... octavainc.com has a better unit coming out that I think I might grab instead... just cuz it has a lot more features, but the MSRP is $350.

But I'm too new to all this to really know what I'm doing.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruman /forum/post/15456308

I wonder what DAC's are used in it to achieve this ?