AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie trying to create an HT in a homeschool room. I'd like to use the 48"x96" glass dry-erase board as a front-projection screen, but can find little info on the Web as to how this might be possible for a DIYer.

I looked into the Planar X-Screen and found a technical document that shows their use of a Lexan graphic film for the projection surface. I contacted the manufacturer of the film, and the tech support person told me that some customers have laminated it on glass and used it as a dry-erase board, but they didn't have any testing to demonstrate its durability in that application. They also were unaware that anyone was using it as a video projection surface.

Since I understand that laminating the film on the rear side of the glass will still leave me with the problem of the 1/4" glass' reflectivity on the front surface, I don't know of any other option but to try to use it with dry-erase markers and see how it goes.

Anyone have any experience or insights into the possible effectiveness of the Lexan film for video projection, as well as any thoughts on a dual-use solution that would accommodate the dry-erase markers? (I'm assuming replacing the glass with frosted or etched glass wouldn't work as a dry-erase surface, either.)

Thanks --

Chris

·
Registered
4,190 Posts
When I saw your subject line, I had to laugh cuz it reminded me of the "bad-old days" (when I was still working) where every meeting room had a dry-erase board, and every one of these was something of a mess because someone would use a pen from an easel (with permanent ink, not dry erase) and make a mark that was near-impossible to clean-up. But I digress.

The key will be a surface that cleans-up well (perfectly, actually, or you'll notice marks & streaks on movie playback) but doesn't hotspot. I'd think standard dry-erase surfaces will hotspot like crazy.