AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
612 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this post has been discussed before, but I think we finally have a viable HTPC from apple. The new OS 10.2 supports native DD5.1 and the new high end notebooks and desktops use the Radeon 9000 video cards with DVI output. I am planning to get the new 1 GHz powerbook G4 with DVD-R superdrive and use the M-audio sonica for digital audio output. If anyone has any thoughts regarding this configuration I would welcome them as I am very new to apple computers.

·
Registered
776 Posts
One of the problems with Apples in the past was custom resolutions. Can you customize the resolutions (ie widescreen SDTV and HDTV resolutions) with the new Apples?

hjackson

·
Registered
612 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
There are multiple resolutions available, however, I do not know if the new apples allow for customization. This was one of the questions I wasn't able to find out, as none of the apple reps knew. If anyone else knows I'd be very interested to hear it. However, I'll probably just run it at 1024x768 as that's the native rate of my projector.

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
This was discussed in the last Apple HTPC thread. Nothing new has really come up :)

Jaguar added support for multiple audio channels, not explicitly DD5.1. There still isn't widely available hardware (M-Audio revolution is viable right now though) from Apple since they are supporting a proprietary digital port for their speakers.

For custom resolutions, there is software out there that gives you some functionality. The name was SwitchRes I believe and it is documented in one of those Apple HTPC threads.

·
Registered
9,679 Posts
Hey,

It's great that Apple is getting around to supporting DD (maybe even DTS.) But, that's only the beginning.