AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This was the title of an article that compares video source from two Canon Consumer Video Camcorders HV-20 and HG-10:

http://blogs.zdnet.com/Ou/?p=998

I own a Canon HF-100 and captured video is awesome. So I don't really understand how much better the picture quality can be. Specially with a non-professional camera with average optics.

Since I'm not an expert on the matter, I would like to read the opinion of other people about this. Is there really an important lose of quality on these new camcorders? Or is this guy just exaggerating?

Another thing I would like to know is how HF-100 compares to HG-10? Is there an improvement on picture quality on the HF-100?

·
Registered
33,528 Posts
The article was written prior to the release of the current gen AVCHD models which garnered high praise in the very same "Camcorder Info" site that the author mentions condemned the older gen AVCHD.

So basically the article is out-of-date and the new AVCHD crop is equal to the best of the consumer HDV units.

·
Registered
2,694 Posts
Yes the article is a bit dated but (IMO) they're still speaking the truth.

As I have stated in another post... after months of being all gung-ho with the new and great avchd stuff, and burning both avchd and Blu Ray disks, I've gone back to mpeg2.

It became apparent to me that the avchd just does not stand up to mpeg2 when I changed up from a 42" to a 60" plasma display. I didn't notice the slight degradation on the 42" but with the 60" the difference in the avchd and mpeg2 is clear... it's just not as good as the mpeg.

I must admit that because I now have a blu ray burner, going back to mpeg2 becomes somewhat more realistic and do-able. Not withstanding, mpeg2 is just plain easier to deal with.

·
Registered
1,755 Posts