AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From the title of this thread you can certainly tell I'm new to the realm of AVR's and real home theater systems. Like many people looking to make the jump to a real system, as compared to a HTIB, the sheer volume of options and variations is daunting to say the least.

With that said are there any general rules in purchasing an AVR?

As the AVR is basically the brains of the operation, does it make sense to spend as much as you can?

Would buying a low end receiver be a mistake and have a tangible impact on sound quality?

Does it make sense to purchase a 7.1 system even if you don't need all the additional outputs compared to a 5.1 setup?

Are there any specific specs which are industry standard such as power ratings ect?

Do you need to match the AVR to the speakers, or speakers to the AVR?

Really just looking for some general advice and clarification.

·
Registered
932 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakkim /forum/post/19595555

Do you need to match the AVR to the speakers, or speakers to the AVR?