AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and I'd like to setup a audio system in my bedroom. My budget is around 350. I am a huge classical music fan and especially like symphonies. I don't this information is helpful or not but I am really into the sound of violin. I have a Audio-Technica AT-PL120 turntable, which has a built-in phono preamp but can be switched off. I'd like to use the system to listen music with both turntable and laptop and watch movies. I am thinking about getting a pair of bookshelf speakers and a power amp. Preamp, subwoofer and other things(I am a newbie) are optional, but I have the impression if I limit the budget to 350, the quality won't be good if I include those stuff. If that's the case, I will buy those things later with about 150-300 budget. My room is about 13X10 big.

I looked at Pioneer SP-BS22-LR and Cambridge S30, but realized it's recommended in 2012 and don't know if there is any better options now. So could you give some opnions? I really appreciate it!

·
Registered
146 Posts
The Pioneer SP-BS22 are great bookshelf speakers. You'll need an amplifier of some sort to power them. You could get a subwoofer, but for classical music you might be better with the SP-FS52, which run about $260 (can be found cheaper) a pair. The SP-FS52 are great speakers for classical. You could also get the Philharmonic Audio Affordable Accuracy towers (FS52 modified for clarity and neutrality), which are $275/pr but this would leave you even tighter on funds for the amp.

I'm not sure what I would suggest for your amp, as I would usually recommend the Yamaha R-S201, but it tends to be quite bright when paired with 6 ohm speakers. I know that a less capable amp that is meant for 6 ohm speakers would sound more neutral.

Hopefully someone else will have recommendations for an amplifier.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·