AVS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some advice from my fellow AVS members.

We recently bought our first home and have put together a modest beginning of a HT Rotel 1057, 2 x B&W 703's) I will soon be adding a 5 x 200w multichannel amp and it got me thinking about power. Do I need to have a 20 amp outlet installed? IS there any other electrical work I should have done along with this?

I am good about surge protection and am about get a Panamax M4300-PM unless there is a another model or brand you guys would suggest.

This is my first venture into a home so i am still learning so thanks for any advice!!

·
Registered
13,326 Posts
Only one outlet?

A 20amp is more than just changing the plug is that's what you asking.

Sounds like you could just use one 20 amp additional to the one standard 15amp that is there.

Really hard to say here. I mean you have to add it all up to really know.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER /forum/post/14284594

Only one outlet?

A 20amp is more than just changing the plug is that's what you asking.

Sounds like you could just use one 20 amp additional to the one standard 15amp that is there.

Really hard to say here. I mean you have to add it all up to really know.

Sorry for being so vague. I have two 15 outlets where the AV rack is and was reading that a 5 channel x 200 amp can draw as much as 18 so I thought this might be required. I'll do some calculations and find out more details on the specific amp I am going to buy. I had thought maybe a 20 amp outlet was a general requirement for higher powered multichannel amps.

·
Registered
26,476 Posts

Quote: