AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,866 Posts
You'll likely need an external amp for zone2, as any Atmos configuration will consume all available internal amp channels.

When comparing AVRs - make sure the Zone2 outputs are "variable" (or selectable fixed/variable) so that you can feed a simple external power amp and still control volume on zone2 from the remote and the AVR's "app"...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You'll likely need an external amp for zone2, as any Atmos configuration will consume all available internal amp channels.

When comparing AVRs - make sure the Zone2 outputs are "variable" (or selectable fixed/variable) so that you can feed a simple external power amp and still control volume on zone2 from the remote and the AVR's "app"...
Sorry it took a couple of days to get back to you, but life sometimes gets in the way. Thank you for your response.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,866 Posts
As opposed to adding an external amp would this new Pioneer VSX-1130 work? The photo shows a 5.2 configuration and then, I presume, the 2.0 could be used for outside(zone2) for music and then in the far right, in the picture, that labeled Top Middle could be used for the Atmos?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/PUSA/Images/Product Images/Home/VSX-1130_back.jpg
A 7.2 amplifier has 7 channels. If you consume all 7 for Atmos (5.1.2), there's no channels left for Zone2. Now, the AVR allows for the "Speaker B" connections (and on/off) that would allow for a simple Zone2 - but with the same source and volume level as the main L/R speakers.

If you want a "real" Zone2, you'd need a different AVR, as this one doesn't have a true Zone2 audio support...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
A 7.2 amplifier has 7 channels. If you consume all 7 for Atmos (5.1.2), there's no channels left for Zone2. Now, the AVR allows for the "Speaker B" connections (and on/off) that would allow for a simple Zone2 - but with the same source and volume level as the main L/R speakers.

If you want a "real" Zone2, you'd need a different AVR, as this one doesn't have a true Zone2 audio support...
Again, thanks for the quick reply and informative answer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
A 7.2 amplifier has 7 channels. If you consume all 7 for Atmos (5.1.2), there's no channels left for Zone2. Now, the AVR allows for the "Speaker B" connections (and on/off) that would allow for a simple Zone2 - but with the same source and volume level as the main L/R speakers.

If you want a "real" Zone2, you'd need a different AVR, as this one doesn't have a true Zone2 audio support...


Hello again,
After some exhaustive research:
1) Will this work?
2) Is this a good choice?

ONKYO 7.2 Channel Network A/V Receiver (TX-NR737) and Topping TP22 TK2050 (TC2000/TP2050) Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 30WPC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,866 Posts
Hello again,
After some exhaustive research:
1) Will this work?
2) Is this a good choice?

ONKYO 7.2 Channel Network A/V Receiver (TX-NR737) and Topping TP22 TK2050 (TC2000/TP2050) Class T Digital Mini Amplifier 30WPC
1) Depends on your configuration (and definition of "works")...
2) Assuming you want an Atmos configuration, no.

Onkyo (they're not alone) has messed up the zone2 capabilities by offering only a Fixed line output, which prevents the use of simple, external power amplifiers for powering zone2 (since the volume must be controlled downstream - which is stupid when they offer app-based remote controls that would therefore not function).

How many channels do you want in your Atmos config? 5.1.2? 7.2.2? 7.2.4? You should look at the 9.2 (or more) channel AVRs if you want to do Atmos + Zone2. Or pick a Denon model as they have variable Zone2 line outputs so you can use a cheap external amp for Zone2.

Jeff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
1) Depends on your configuration (and definition of "works")...
2) Assuming you want an Atmos configuration, no.

Onkyo (they're not alone) has messed up the zone2 capabilities by offering only a Fixed line output, which prevents the use of simple, external power amplifiers for powering zone2 (since the volume must be controlled downstream - which is stupid when they offer app-based remote controls that would therefore not function).

How many channels do you want in your Atmos config? 5.1.2? 7.2.2? 7.2.4? You should look at the 9.2 (or more) channel AVRs if you want to do Atmos + Zone2. Or pick a Denon model as they have variable Zone2 line outputs so you can use a cheap external amp for Zone2.

Jeff
I was really trying to avoid the expense associated with a 9.2, but that may be what's required. I'm thinking (hoping) that with Pioneer announcing their new AVR's and, presuming, Onkyo's half of the company will also be announced soon, that maybe my proposed set-up will work with the 2015 models. As before thanks for the quick, helpful answer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,866 Posts
I was really trying to avoid the expense associated with a 9.2, but that may be what's required.
"Avoid expense" and "I want Atmos" don't go together... :p

Atmos and DTS:X will likely drive more amp channels into the lower-priced receivers, but this will take a few years to propagate.

Figure you're going to spend ~$100 for an external zone amp (by the way, the ones you listed are not what I would recommend - you'd like one with automatic on/off or a trigger input - the AudioSource AMP-100 being a good cheap example), and add that to your AVR budget.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Poman
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top