AVS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie to this site so please be kind lol. ill try to provide the best info i can on my set up.

I have a newly finished basement and just purchased some goodies to enjoy some movies in my basement, see below:

Receiver - Yamaha RX-V573

Speakers - PSB Alpha Intros (5.1 setup) Subzero2 subwoofer (its a small room so these speakers are large enough)

TV - Panasonic ET5 (TCL55ET5) - 55" 3D LED

HDMI in (PS3 to receiver)

HDMI out (receiver to TV)

AUDIO for bluray is optical out (from PS3 into the receiver)

The issue:

While watching a Blu-Ray (3D) through PS3, after a loud action sequence with substantial bass, i hear a loud buzz or humming coming from my front right channel. I can turn off the receiver and power it back on and it goes away. The entire entertainment system is on its on direct line from the electrical panel. I have the receiver and a PS3 on a plastic shelf in behind the wall in an unfinished laundry room.

What are some troubleshooting or things i do to pin point the issue? Thoughts on if this a Yamaha or PS3 issue or is it simply a miss connection with the speaker wire?

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So here are some things i have tried and double checked...

- I updated the firmware

- Double checked the polarity of all speaker wires

- Unplugged all power and power bar into a completely different outlet (a different line to panel)

- Tried using HDMI output for audio

- Bough a new optical cable, incase it was a bad cable

- This is the last thing which stumps me... .I plugging an RCA directly to my iPhone as the source, and it still buzzes when volume is cranked

Thinking i might need to send this brand new amp in for service, any thoughts?

thanks

·
Registered
1 Posts