AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at home theater and just set up this system. Everything works fine except for the sound in concert DVDs. I am not getting sound from rear and back surround speakers when playing these concert DVDs even though they indicate Dolby 5.1 surround. I'm playing the David Gilmour in Concert DVD in a Bravo D1 with optical audio out to a Denon 2803. I have 6.1 Omnisat Micro speakers. On the Gilmour DVD audio set up, I have a choice of stereo or Dolby 5.1 so I select the Dolby. Even tried the 5.1 sound tester on the DVD and all speakers respond. But when I play the DVD sound only comes from front, center and sub, not rear or back speakers. If I select stereo on the DVD set up, then all speakers work. The AVR indicates a digital signal is being received. The Bravo D1 DVD player audio out is set for encoded digital. Can someone tell me where am I going wrong in the set up?

·
Registered
193 Posts
do your movies play in Dolby Digital 5.1 ok? The concert dvds should be setup just like the movies are.

Don't use the EXT. IN.......that's just for dvd-a or sacd playback.

If the movies play in 5.1 ok, then so should the concert. You said concert is Dolby 5.1, instead of dts? I'm asking, because there's also a dts 5.1, which is different from Dolby 5.1. They are competing compression formats. Most of the time, dts is better. If it's dts 5.1, then dvd player may not be set to play dts. Most dvd players ship from the factory with the dts feature turned off. If that's the case, you'll need to go into the dvd player's setup menus, and set the digital output to bitstream (or possibly to raw) for dts and Dolby Digital.

Good luck, and keep us posted as to results............. :)

BTW.........

My friend's 2803 has "7 ch. stereo DVD" showing in his receiver's display, when playing movies and concerts, in DD 5.1 or dts.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·