Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. Great board!

I'm a total newbie when it comes to distributed audio so forgive the ignorance. I want to get sound into each of 5 rooms in my home. I would like to be able to listen to one cd in my office while my wife listens to the radio (or another cd) in the bath while soaking in the tub. Can this be done with quality but without breaking the bank? I have a receiver, a pair of bookshelf speakers, a center channel and a subwoofer. The subwoofer and center channel are Phase Tech while the bookshelf speakers are unknown. Also, the receiver is an old Technics model (Dolby but no DTX).

BTW, I also want to wire the living area for home theatre.

House specs: 1 story, slab, cathedral ceiling in master bedroom, 12 foot ceilings everywhere else. I already have CAT 5 cabling in 3 of the rooms. The CAT5 wiring is simple: a wire from a wall plate in one room to a 4 port wall plate in my home office/den (all running up through the attic). Once at the office wall plate, I connect Ethernet cable from the wall plate to my router. I have a cable connection from the attic into the office wall plate that serves my Cable modem.

Do I need to buy a new receiver? Speakers? Please advise.

Thanks in advance...

Frank

·
Registered
3,991 Posts
The traditional answer would be to run speaker wire to all your rooms from a single home-run location, connect to a multi-zone amplifier from Kustom, Russound, Niles or Xantech, Use RF repeaters or Run Cat-5 for IR distributed control, and relocate all your sources (CD, radio, VCR, etc.) to the amplifier location.

BUT, if you have cat-5 strung to your rooms already, and you are faced with the daunting challenge of running more cable with no crawlspace (you are sitting on a slab), you might consider something like this:

http://www.whiteoaks.com/distaudio/