AVS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just getting started here. I'm looking to set up a network storage device on which to store all my audio files for eventual sharing across all computers, Home Theater and stereo. My general configuration is as follows:

1. I have a cable modem which comes in to house pretty much dead center.

2. Attached to cable modem is a wireless router which services entire house with internet.

3. All music has been ripped both in lossless format (FLAC) and MP3 or AAC for iPods. Both formats should reside on NAS device.

4. Home has multiple PCs and a MAC, so NAS device must be accessible to both platforms. Probably using iTunes on each computer as interface as we all have iPods

5. NAS device will also service home theater system in family room, stereo in den and speakers on outdoor deck. Am looking at both Sonos and new Slim Devices products as options.

Question: What NAS devices does everyone recommend? I am somewhat drawn to purchasing empty enclosures and supplying my own harddrives. I know NetGear has a NAS enclosure product, but it seems to get bad reviews on NewEgg and CDW. I've seen people write good things about D-Link's DNS-323, but don't know if it works in a mixed PC/Mac environment - much less whether it interfaces well with SONOS or SlimDevices. Do I need addtional network management software?

I'm sure many out there has faced this issue so am hoping there are lots of good suggestions out there. Thanks in advance. -Lloyd

·
Registered
110 Posts