AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just moved into a house where I don't have to worry about the neighbor complaining about hearing my speakers thump. I have never had a home audio/home theater set-up so I am almost completely lost when it comes to them. I am just a firefighter for Baltimore City so I don't have a ton of money to spend on my set up. However I do not want to end up regretting my purchase. I don't really listen to a lot of music so these speakers will mostly be used for watching movies and TV. I want the speakers to sound good at low levels just as much as high levels.

Anyway, I've done a little research and I would like to hear some opinions on the fallowing. Also, please feel free to recommend anything else you might think I will like more or that is going to sound better. My budget is about $700 and my home theater is 18x16. At this point, I have no idea which speakers will be powerful enough to fill the entire room.

1. http://www.amazon.com/Mirage-MX-5-1-...f=pd_cp_e_pw_3

2. http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-HD-500...pd_sim_sbs_e_5

3. http://www.acousticsounddesign.com/c...pid=1466&sc=61

4. http://www.digitalbuyer.com/jamo-a34...40-series.html

5. http://www.buy.com/prod/jamo-s426hcs...219607321.html

6. http://www.amazon.com/Jamo-S606HCS3-.../dp/B005FHM4LQ

7. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...F8&me=&seller=

8. http://www.acousticsounddesign.com/c...pid=1913&sc=69

The last two are HTIB. I know these aren't recommended but I feel they would give me a good base to start from. If you think I can get more from my money by buying the receiver separate than by all means. Please let me know.

9. http://www.audioholics.com/reviews/h...-dht-1312ba-fl

10. http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-YHT-893...4837634&sr=8-1

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help.

·
Registered
1,663 Posts