AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 474 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Product Page:

MSRP $6600.00 X7
MSRP $9600.00 X9


I just received this processor Friday 5/22/2020 and installed over Memorial weekend. The processor had the latest firmware update and every function worked out of the box. Some of the features that I like in this processor: 16 balanced outputs (No Audible noise from the speakers on my system) and 4 balanced inputs for two devices. Connect up to five independent subwoofers, one sub channel, two front and rear sub channels. DiracLive 2 with Bass Control. See below for more product specifications.

AudioControl said:
AudioControl’s next generation of high-performance preamp/processors enable home theater specialists and A/V integrators to create systems that deliver new levels of precision, power and control. The Maestro X7 supports the most sought after immersive surround formats, such as Dolby Atmos, Auro-3D, DTS:X, and IMAX Enhanced, with 16-channels of balanced and unbalanced outputs including four user-configurable outputs. The Maestro X7 offers a full complement of inputs for connection to the latest audio/video components, including 7 HDMI 2.0b inputs that fully support 4K UHD and HDR playback.

The new Maestro X7 houses the very latest in audio and video processing technology, featuring Dirac Live® room correction to overcome acoustic anomalies in any space, and ESS SABRE PRO DACs that ensure unprecedented levels of detail and clarity along with earth-shaking, authoritative bass response.

Enthusiasts will enjoy intuitive app-based control, Google Cast, AirPlay 2, aptX Bluetooth and Wi-Fi streaming connectivity options as well as integrated web-based configuration.

All of this outstanding technology has been wrapped quite elegantly within a completely new industrial design, distinguishing AudioControl’s home cinema preamp/processor lineup from any other solution.
FEATURES: X7
9.1.6 decoding for Dolby Atmos and DTS:X
IMAX Enhanced, Auro-3D
4K UHD supporting HDMI 2.0b and HDCP 2.2
ES9026PRO SABRE DACs (124 dB of dynamic range)
Dirac Live® room correction
16 channel XLR outputs
16 channel unbalanced outputs
Pairs perfectly with Savoy G4, Pantages G4, Avalon G4
Dolby VisionTM playback support
HDR support (HDR10/BT.2020)
4 user-assignable output channels
7 HDMI inputs / 3 HDMI outputs (eARC)
IP, IR, RS232, and Wifi control
AirPlay 2 and Google Chromecast streaming support

FEATURES: X9
9.1.6 decoding for Dolby Atmos and DTS:X
IMAX Enhanced, Auro-3D
4K UHD supporting HDMI 2.0b and HDCP 2.2
ES9038PRO SABRE audiophile DACs (140 dB of dynamic range)
Dirac Live® room correction
16 channel XLR outputs with OPA1612 HiFi Audio op-amps
16 channel unbalanced outputs
Pairs perfectly with Savoy G4, Pantages G4, Avalon G4
Dolby VisionTM playback support
HDR support (HDR10/BT.2020)
4 user-assignable output channels
7 HDMI inputs / 3 HDMI outputs (eARC compatible)
IP, IR, RS232, and Wifi control
AirPlay 2 and Google Chromecast streaming support


AUDIOHOLICS CEDIA 2019

So far no issues with install, connections or functions. I will update if I run into any issues with this processor.

Update: 5/28/2020 When the X7 goes and comes out of standby mode there is a faint noise that I here in the speakers. Solution: I have a AUX port that puts my amps into sleep mode using a relay. My Crestron has a built-in relay for both amps. I can put the amps to sleep and then the processor in standby. Problem solved. You can also use a trigger if your amps have this feature.

5/30/2020 DiracLive has Bass Control implemented with firmware 1.29. See screen shots below.

6/9/20 Krobar kindly brought to my attention a new Firmware Update 1.33 scroll to bottom of page

8/17/20 New Firmware Update 1.37 scroll to bottom of page

10/06/20 New Firmware Update 1.41 scroll to bottom of page

10/26/20 New Firmware Update 1.43 scroll to bottom of page




Screen Shots of Dirac 3.0 with Bass Control and Firmware 1.33






 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,874 Posts
Will this model eventually have the full suite of Dirac Live?
It will have Dirac Bass Control very soon but is not present in the current firmware. This is an Arcam AV40 with 2 Balanced XLR inputs added and a nicer skin, they share the same firmware base. I'm still curious to hear about the X9 as that has a quite different DAC board and power implementation to the sister Arcam product.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Will this model eventually have the full suite of Dirac Live?
It will have Dirac Bass Control very soon but is not present in the current firmware. This is an Arcam AV40 with 2 Balanced XLR inputs added and a nicer skin, they share the same firmware base. I'm still curious to hear about the X9 as that has a quite different DAC board and power implementation to the sister Arcam product.
Wrong, I called Audiocontrol and this is not a Arcam unit. Arcam is a Harman product. Audiocontrol has nothing to do with Arcam. It is made in the US, State of Washington. Please stop spreading BS on this forum.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,874 Posts
Wrong, I called Audiocontrol and this is not a Arcam unit. Arcam is a Harman product. Audiocontrol has nothing to do with Arcam. It is made in the US, State of Washington. Please stop spreading BS on this forum.
Wow, you could not be more wrong. They can construct them where they wish but most of the PCBs and ALL of the software is Harman.

http://www.arcamupdate.co.uk/store/Avatar_Upgrades/Arcam_AV40_update.json
http://www.arcamupdate.co.uk/store/Avatar_Upgrades/Audio_Control_Maestro-X9_update.json

Post some photos of the unit itself or the software or the OSD and we can play spot the difference ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Wow, you could not be more wrong. They can construct them where they wish but most of the PCBs and ALL of the software is Harman.

http://www.arcamupdate.co.uk/store/Avatar_Upgrades/Arcam_AV40_update.json
http://www.arcamupdate.co.uk/store/Avatar_Upgrades/Audio_Control_Maestro-X9_update.json

Post some photos of the unit itself or the software or the OSD and we can play spot the difference ;)
These units have not even begun to ship to the UK. So you have to do better than that my friend. From my X7:

name = "uboot";
version = "0.100.131114.0-3de0939a";
install-if-different = true;
filename = "u-boot.tar.gz";
device = "/dev/mtd0";
type = "uboot-a113";
sha256 = "cc59476192187c1dfbe3f28f7ed5f9eb92de5f3f4e1633f5e5f7562d2b7ddf7f";
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,874 Posts
These units have not even begun to ship to the UK. So you have to do better than that my friend. From my X7:

name = "uboot";
version = "0.100.131114.0-3de0939a";
install-if-different = true;
filename = "u-boot.tar.gz";
device = "/dev/mtd0";
type = "uboot-a113";
sha256 = "cc59476192187c1dfbe3f28f7ed5f9eb92de5f3f4e1633f5e5f7562d2b7ddf7f";
Anyone who wishes to see the two units are heavily related can see for themselves. You can download the Arcam 1.28 firmware here:
https://www.arcam.co.uk/product,hda,av-receivers,avr20.htm
and the Audio control 1.29 firmware here:
https://www.audiocontrol.com/home-audio/immersive-av-preamp-processors/maestro-x7/

The 2 image.swu files are an identical match, this is the MD5:
189dadadf1b9ccc8a2f80bb8ebec6c72
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,193 Posts
Wrong, I called Audiocontrol and this is not a Arcam unit. Arcam is a Harman product. Audiocontrol has nothing to do with Arcam. It is made in the US, State of Washington. Please stop spreading BS on this forum.

I have to believe you or the rep misunderstood something. AudioControl’s a good company, so I would not expect them to lie like that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I have to believe you or the rep misunderstood something. AudioControl’s a good company, so I would not expect them to lie like that.
From AudioControl's website:

AudioControl has a 40-plus year history of creating award-winning Made in USA products for integrators and backing them up with superior customer service as well as a 5-year warranty. Engineered and manufactured in the Pacific Northwest, these newly unveiled theater processors, receivers and amplifiers are prime examples of best-in-class, innovative product designs from AudioControl.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,193 Posts
From AudioControl's website:

AudioControl has a 40-plus year history of creating award-winning Made in USA products for integrators and backing them up with superior customer service as well as a 5-year warranty. Engineered and manufactured in the Pacific Northwest, these newly unveiled theater processors, receivers and amplifiers are prime examples of best-in-class, innovative product designs from AudioControl.

Maybe they “engineered and manufactured” a faceplate in the US?

Their previous AVRs and prepros were reskinned Arcam units as well.

Recall Lexicon once strenuously claimed there was something special (aside from casework) for their recased Oppo player.

Furthermore, if you haven’t used the room correction and confirmed that it sticks on all channels in all sound modes (a known defect in the JBL version of this unit) you should retract this statement as you cannot know the truth of your claim.

The processor had the latest firmware update and every function worked out of the box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,581 Posts
Maybe they “engineered and manufactured” a faceplate in the US?

Their precious AVRs and prepros were reskinned Arcam units as well.

Recall Lexicon once strenuously claimed there was something special (aside from casework) for their recased Oppo player.

Furthermore, if you haven’t used the room correction and confirmed that it sticks on all channels in all sound modes (a known defect in the JBL version of this unit) you should retract this statement as you cannot know the truth of your claim.
As DS-21 mentioned, these have always been based on Arcam products. I can't see why this suddenly changed. Layer in the virtually identical back panel and firmware and I can't see how anybody reasonably conclude otherwise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #15 (Edited)
Maybe they “engineered and manufactured” a faceplate in the US?

Their precious AVRs and prepros were reskinned Arcam units as well.

Recall Lexicon once strenuously claimed there was something special (aside from casework) for their recased Oppo player.

Furthermore, if you haven’t used the room correction and confirmed that it sticks on all channels in all sound modes (a known defect in the JBL version of this unit) you should retract this statement as you cannot know the truth of your claim.
I have already run DiracLive to see if everything works as it should. Guess what no problems. I was waiting for my UMIK-1 mic which I have now. I will being eq'g my subs and running the final calibration Friday night. So I can make that statement. By the way this is my thread so I can do as I please.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I don't know what's up with you guy's wanting this to be a Arcam unit. This thread is for people interested in the AudioControl Maestro X7. If you have a problem with AudioControl please take your comments some place else. I purchased this unit for my enjoyment and it's everything I wanted and expected. So if you have nothing constructive or a question about this unit then please don't post here. Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,193 Posts
I have already run DiracLive to see if everything works as it should. Guess what no problems.
Interesting, in light of your previous comments:

I talked with Tech Support yesterday 5/26/2020 and he said it may have Bass Control already implemented.
Given the pace of the conversation, it's fair to say that you could not have calibrated Dirac and performed QC to see if your unit has the same Dirac problems as reported for a sister-prepro. See the JBL Synthesis prepro thread for more info.

By the way this is my thread so I can do as I please.
It's AVS Forum's thread. The only thing you have control over here is your credibility.

The prepro's lineage is frankly not in question, except by you. Nobody would be talking about it except that you keep insisting that up is down.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,581 Posts
I don't know what's up with you guy's wanting this to be a Arcam unit. This thread is for people interested in the AudioControl Maestro X7. If you have a problem with AudioControl please take your comments some place else. I purchased this unit for my enjoyment and it's everything I wanted and expected. So if you have nothing constructive or a question about this unit then please don't post here. Thanks
The Arcam, JBL and Audiocontrol are all based on the same basic design and components. I don't know why this is so offensive to you. We are here to share and learn from each other. There are tons of very experienced and knowledgeable posters here on AVS. Lets use that to learn from each other. If you love the unit, that is all that matters. However to turn a blind eye to findings from the "sister" units doesn't do anybody any good. Ignoring the information, measurements and findings from other users doesn't make the information not true or valid.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
The Arcam, JBL and Audiocontrol are all based on the same basic design and components. I don't know why this is so offensive to you. We are here to share and learn from each other. There are tons of very experienced and knowledgeable posters here on AVS. Lets use that to learn from each other. If you love the unit, that is all that matters. However to turn a blind eye to findings from the "sister" units doesn't do anybody any good. Ignoring the information, measurements and findings from other users doesn't make the information not true or valid.
It does not matter to me if this unit uses Harman software. Most company's use some of sort of software from Harman or Trinnov. Our company carries a multitude of brands which include JBL Synthesis, Pro, AudioControl, NAD, Anthem, Rotel, Wisdom and Integra just to name a few. This is the second unit I have installed. The first unit went with out a hitch and DiracLive ran as it should no problems. The second unit happens to be in my personal system. I just changed from JBL Synthesis to Audio Control because we have been encountering issue with JBL Synthesis processors. This company is our go to at the moment because they work without problems. I looked at the Anthem AVM60 but I wanted to stick with DiracLive. There are some very experienced people on this site but there are also some not so experienced folks that just want to go to the ends of the earth to prove their point. Thanks for being cordial and I am not offended by any of the posts. I take them with a grain of salt.
 
1 - 20 of 474 Posts
Top