AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here looking to make my first HT purchase.......thanks for all the info on the site.

I have a question about authorized dealers. I am have narrowed my choice of receiver down the the Elite 54TX. Pioneer website lists several online dealers that are authorized to sell their products.

What is an "authorized" dealer, and why should I pay 60% more for one? Has anybody had any experience with buying non-authorized? Results? What gives????

Thanks,

Chris

Edited: please read the rules. Do not post pricing. Thank you.

·
Registered
6,779 Posts
In its simplest form, an authorized dealer is one the manufactuer has said may sell its products. Typically the manufacturer will only recognize a warranty claim if the unit has been purchased from an authorized dealer. Most manufacturers have a "dealer locator" button on their websites so you can find out who is and who isn't.

Some vendors obtain units that are outside the "authorized channels". They know the manufacturer will not honor the original warranty, so they will attempt to sell you one of their own. What they are selling may or may not be "factory fresh". Some may be "B" stock or "factory refurbished" units. Some may simply be perfectly fine units that have been returned because they didn't meet the original purchaser's needs.

Some people don't care about the warranty and have gotten extremely good, reliable equipment at bargain prices. Others have horror stories to tell.

As an additional clarification: just because a unit has been "factory refurbished" isn't necessarily a bad thing. All it means is the unit had a problem, the manufacturer has fixed it and is certifying it "like new". You can often get a good bargain on these from authorized re-sellers that WILL include the full manufacturer's warranty.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Peter,

Thanks for the reply.