AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,


I was at Bjrons in San Antonio, TX the other day and fell in love with the kaleidescape system...not with the price tag though.


The main thing that got my attention was the completely automated dvd ripping. And I was wondering if I could do the same myself without spending that much.


I have over 1000 dvds and the collection is more of a pain than it is entertainment now (reaching/looking for dvds etc). I have several HTPCs but I never got into ripping dvds because it seemed like it was a hassle.


So I was wondering, are there any software solutions that automatically rip dvds? I'm not interested in the extra features... just subtitles and the main movie.



Doesn't matter if its a paid or free solution (as long as its not expensive).



Any suggestions?


Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,995 Posts
I think your question would be based more on Hardware than software as if you were 'ripping' from discs, then you would need a disc carousel of some type to switch from disc to disc. If your question is to 'encoding' which is the process 'after' the individual disc has been 'copie' to your PC's hard drive then many encoding programs already offer a cue feature for multiple encodes during a single session.


You will need to identify what file format you want your media to be in. This should/would be highly dependant on your playback device.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem13 /forum/post/20858515


I think your question would be based more on Hardware than software as if you were 'ripping' from discs, then you would need a disc carousel of some type to switch from disc to disc. If your question is to 'encoding' which is the process 'after' the individual disc has been 'copie' to your PC's hard drive then many encoding programs already offer a cue feature for multiple encodes during a single session.


You will need to identify what file format you want your media to be in. This should/would be highly dependant on your playback device.

Ok i'm not an expert in these kind of things.


Let me put it as straightforward as I can.


I want to insert a dvd into my htpc, click a button in some kind of software, then it would proceed to copy the disc and do whatever it needs to so its view-able by a media player... preferably with some kind of GUI for easy selection.


You mentioned "many" programs but didn't mention one... Like I said suggestions would be appreciated.


Thanks for your reply
 

·
UHD Addict
Joined
·
39,543 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1 /forum/post/20858550


Ok i'm not an expert in these kind of things.


Let me put it as straightforward as I can.


I want to insert a dvd into my htpc, click a button in some kind of software, then it would proceed to copy the disc and do whatever it needs to so its view-able by a media player... preferably with some kind of GUI for easy selection.


You mentioned "many" programs but didn't mention one... Like I said suggestions would be appreciated.


Thanks for your reply

I don't even need to hit a button. Although I don't use DVDs but BDs. But "My Movies" will work just the same for either. I use "My Movies" for WHS. All I have to do is put the disc in tray and close it. The My Movies software does the rest(In conjuction with Any DVD)

It creates a folder, rips the disc and ejects it when done. Then I can play the title from my media players. the media players automatically scan the folders with my movies so it will incorporate the new titles that get added in the data base.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt /forum/post/20858581


I don't even need to hit a button. Although I don't use DVDs but BDs. But "My Movies" will work just the same for either. I use "My Movies" for WHS. All I have to do is put the disc in tray and close it. The My Movies software does the rest(In conjuction with Any DVD)

It creates a folder, rips the disc and ejects it when done. Then I can play the title from my media players. the media players automatically scan the folders with my movies so it will incorporate the new titles that get added in the data base.

are you referring to this?

http://www.mymovies.dk/


Is it only for WHS? I have windows 7 running in my htpc.
 

·
UHD Addict
Joined
·
39,543 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1 /forum/post/20858595


are you referring to this?

http://www.mymovies.dk/


Is it only for WHS? I have windows 7 running in my htpc.

There is a version you can run on a PC as well with Windows 7.


My Movies and Any DVD do cost money though, but they are both well worth it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
There is a version you can run on a PC as well with Windows 7.


My Movies and Any DVD do cost money though, but they are both well worth it.
OK!


I have My Movies and Any dvd up and running! I can't believe WMC could be this pretty with the right stuff lol


I have a question though. AnyDVD is ripping the ENTIRE dvd (which is cool in some cases) but it takes a lot of space....Is there any way to tell My Movies or AnyDVD to not copy the special features and other languages? (can't find anything on google)


At this rate I would need several terabytes of space lol


Thanks!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,789 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1
OK!


I have My Movies and Any dvd up and running! I can't believe WMC could be this pretty with the right stuff lol


I have a question though. AnyDVD is ripping the ENTIRE dvd (which is cool in some cases) but it takes a lot of space....Is there any way to tell My Movies or AnyDVD to not copy the special features and other languages? (can't find anything on google)


At this rate I would need several terabytes of space lol


Thanks!
I don't think there's an easy, automated way to do that. It's not always easy for software to automatically figure out where the main movie is on the disc, versus "making-of" features etc.


And getting "several terabytes" of storage is cheap and easy these days.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ
I don't think there's an easy, automated way to do that. It's not always easy for software to automatically figure out where the main movie is on the disc, versus "making-of" features etc.


And getting "several terabytes" of storage is cheap and easy these days.
kaleidescape does



Then again I guess it's something you would expect from a 10,000 usd system.


However, I would think that 99% of the time the longest movie file in the dvd is the main movie, not making-of etc...


Damn... oh well I'll look into storage solutions and start with the most popular dvds.


Another thing, My movies is based on a point system for unlocking features... As i'm using it right now I don't see anything being limited or anything, is it on trial mode?


Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,321 Posts
TViX had a firmware version that allowed you to connect a USB DVD drive and offered one click ripping, though I never tried it. They took it out in subsequent versions so I guess there must have been some issue of legality with such a feature.
 

·
UHD Addict
Joined
·
39,543 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1 /forum/post/20859367


kaleidescape does



Then again I guess it's something you would expect from a 10,000 usd system.


However, I would think that 99% of the time the longest movie file in the dvd is the main movie, not making-of etc...


Damn... oh well I'll look into storage solutions and start with the most popular dvds.


Another thing, My movies is based on a point system for unlocking features... As i'm using it right now I don't see anything being limited or anything, is it on trial mode?


Thanks!

There is a 21 day trial where you have access to 2500 points giving you enough for all the features. This is what I ended up purchasing so I could rip from up to five discs concurrently and rip BD/HD DVD titles to ISOs.


Here is a link that shows what features are available for what points. 2500 gives you access to everything.

http://www.mymovies.dk/documentation...iring%20Points
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
127 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1 /forum/post/20859232


OK!


I have My Movies and Any dvd up and running! I can't believe WMC could be this pretty with the right stuff lol


I have a question though. AnyDVD is ripping the ENTIRE dvd (which is cool in some cases) but it takes a lot of space....Is there any way to tell My Movies or AnyDVD to not copy the special features and other languages? (can't find anything on google)


At this rate I would need several terabytes of space lol


Thanks!

SlySoft the makers of AnyDVD have an additional product called cloneDVD

that allows you to get at specific titles on a disc to rip, and what sound formats to include, and any subtitles, etc.


buz
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,784 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1 /forum/post/20859367


kaleidescape does

no it doesn't... or at least it didn't...

it used to rip the whole disk, and just hide everything that wasn't the main movie...

or at least that is how I remember it... very nice setup... if you got the coin... or a couple coins...
 

·
UHD Addict
Joined
·
39,543 Posts
I'll take my setups over Kaleidescape.. I have 88TB with just my unRAID and WHS. How much would Kaleidescape cost to have 88TB of storage?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
this is a lil confusing...


Does cloneDVD work with mymovies? I don't see it and I don't want to purchase the wrong software... I only see the anyDVD plugin...


Thanks for your replies guys...


and wow...88TB? mind sharing a pic of how that setup looks like?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
127 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewe1 /forum/post/20868606


this is a lil confusing...


Does cloneDVD work with mymovies? I don't see it and I don't want to purchase the wrong software... I only see the anyDVD plugin...


Thanks for your replies guys...


and wow...88TB? mind sharing a pic of how that setup looks like?

cloneDVD works with anyDVD they are both from slysoft. anyDVD enables

the disc to be read without css. cloneDVD allows you to rip any titles into

an iso file. Both products allow for 21 day free trial period. BTW, they

have anyDVD HD which can decrypt BR or HD DVD's if you have the

appropriate drive on your computer. CloneDVD does not work with

BR or HD DVD, so I use makeMKV for them. I don't use myMovies, I

have 24 TB in drobo storage, that I access from three boxee boxes

I have scattered around my house. I use these programs standalone,

and put the iso files on the drobo storage for access throughout my

house.



I have no financial stake in the company slysoft, but I am a more than

satisfied user.


buz
 

·
UHD Addict
Joined
·
39,543 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by buz /forum/post/20869647


cloneDVD works with anyDVD they are both from slysoft. anyDVD enables

the disc to be read without css. cloneDVD allows you to rip any titles into

an iso file. Both products allow for 21 day free trial period. BTW, they

have anyDVD HD which can decrypt BR or HD DVD's if you have the

appropriate drive on your computer. CloneDVD does not work with

BR or HD DVD, so I use makeMKV for them. I don't use myMovies, I

have 24 TB in drobo storage, that I access from three boxee boxes

I have scattered around my house. I use these programs standalone,

and put the iso files on the drobo storage for access throughout my

house.



I have no financial stake in the company slysoft, but I am a more than

satisfied user.


buz

ANY DVD HD also allows you to create an ISO(or folder structure) from the disc. What does Clone DVD do, shrink it?
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top