AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a copy of AVIA. I find it pretty unfriendly to use. I am a newbie and just wanted to use it for video calibration.

Is there any site that explain how to use it? Am I too lazy, should I try some more?

Is Digital Video Essentials easier to use? Is it as good or better for video calibration?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Yes, you're too lazy. Just watch it. The hosts first explain some theory and whatnot, and then it goes into the calibration screens, each with detailed instructions on what to do.

You can also just skip to the video calibration sections.

·
Registered
36 Posts
I find AVIA to be exceedingly user friendly and pretty much as easy as it gets as far as calibration goes. They tell you exactly what each test does, which control on your TV should be modified, and what to look for. I really don't know how you could get lost with it.

Personally, I find DVE to be much more extensive and thorough but the user interface was designed by someone who obviously has no knowledge of proper use of the DVD menu systems.

·
Registered
616 Posts
I used AVIA for the first time earlier this week and I didn't have any trouble with it. Each chapter has 2 sections, the explaination and the actual test pattern. Listen to the explaination first or just press ">|" to get to the test pattern. You should probably go through the calibration routines 2 or 3 times until you are familiar with how they interact with your TV. I'll probably go through the basic picture/brightness/sharpness again this weekend and maybe do our new bedroom TV.

You can't really adjust the individual RGB levels on most CRTs unless you can get into the service menu, so some of the tests are going to be a compromise. Like anything else, it takes time if you want to be real picky.