AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a student and live in an apartment so I'm not looking for a top of the line receiver. I was looking at the Denon systems because I have an old one of those at home and I am satisfied with it.

I am wondering how the AVR-885S (785s, 685s, etc) receivers perform. They don't have the AL24 processor... but is that something that I'm seriously going to notice in a small apartment?

I like how these units looked and they provided enough bandwitdh for component switching and have enough power for what I am looking for. Is there something else that I should be aware of?

George

· Registered
971 Posts
I have the 2805 which has the Alpha 24. I think, to answer your question, it depends on what you'll use it for. You may notice the difference even at low volumes if you are listening to high resolution music from audiophile sources. If music is paramount, then spring for it. If movies and music are about equal to you, you may not need or notice a difference. Without it, these receivers have a lot of excellent sounding processing and stereo modes anyway.

My two cents

Tony B

· Registered
409 Posts
Pull the trigger if you like it (885 S). In a small apartment, your're fine. If/When your taste in audio changes, you can step up into more musical speakers, components, etc.. For the "entry" level system, it is going to make you happy. The low price will just add to the enjoyment. Good Luck

· Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the input.... I dont have room for real nice speakers (and can't yet afford the ones that would fit... bose) So I probably wouldn't get the benefit from the higher processor anyway.

I'm looking at the Harmon Kardon HKTS 7 or 14 speaker system (please don't scoff) because they're small, cheap and they're only a temporary solution until I graduate, find a job and get a semi-perminant living location.