AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie that acquired my first pj (Sanyo PLV60) about 4 weeks ago. I could not resist the 1K htpc special being offered here and hooked it up 4 days ago. All I had added to the core offer was a modem and a tv capture card so I could use dscaler to make my lousy cable signal bearable and hopefully improve the video quality of my Sony interlaced DVD jukebox source. Here are my first impressions of my first htpc.

It is bogus to me to say that the main reason to get an htpc is superior picture quality. The main reason to get an htpc is that for a computer geek like me, this thing is a friggin blast! It is so much FUN to have so much control, so many options. Convergence of PC and TV is HERE! It has arrived and is alive and kicking in my own living room! A dream I have had for years has now been realized for me. I am giddy. It's more fun than the initial pj purchase. IMHO, AVSience should market their contraption based on the fun factor, not pq.

I was worried about the wireless keyboard because the best wireless you can get locally here at CompUSA is utterly craptastic beyond 3ft. The I-MMT Express Pro Remote keyboard that came with this thing works great. I love the little joy-stick at the upper right, relieving the need for a mouse. I am a good 12+ feet away from the htpc at a 30 degree angle and it works flawlessly. Very cool. It is a mystery to me why CompUSA would ONLY carry crap when this very competent technology is available. I guess they don't think that htpc is ready for the masses yet.