AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay. Judging from the last thread, hardly a soul thought the Aperions would be a better speaker selection than Rockets or Axioms... and given the speakers chosen, that the Rockets would be a better bargain. I have listened to a friend's Axioms and was very happy with the sound... but have heard a great many good things about the Rockets. I also have decided to splurge a little on the Axioms, should I choose them, thereby changing my configuration a bit. So, as a relative novice, I logically need someone to hold my hand in making the decision. Also, there are a couple more on-point questions I have to ask. So lets us get started:

Axiom system:

M60 fronts

VP150 center

and M22ti OR QS8 surrounds ( question 1--we listen to a bit of music, so I am leaning toward M22ti's over the QS8's--is that logical; Question 1.5: or would the smaller M3's suffice for surrounds)

Rockets:

550 fronts

200 center

300 surrounds

The system prices would be about the same under both situations... given the shipping the Axioms might even be cheaper.

Question 2: I have a Pioneer Elite 45Tx receiver. It goes down to 6 ohms. Is that going to be enough punch to power the M80's or am I going to need a separate amplifier?

Possible Question 3: How would I go about connecting a separate amplifier to power the front 2 channels and still have it work with the overall 5.1 sound.

Question 4: With the apparent size and power of the M80's would I NEED a subwoofer (I have a HSU VTF-2) and if so, should I go with the Axiom, or keep the HSU?

Any and all advice would be extremely helpful. Thanks!

PS. B--this is on the down-low : )

· Registered
133 Posts
I would recommend you keep the HSU. In addition I would downgrade to the M60 in the front. They are easier on the amp, in addition the M80 requires a lot of work to find a sweet spot.