AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
809 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm a HT newbie and am in the process of setting up a new, separate HT sound system in the same living room but a separate system from my existing 2 channel stereo (existing system has tube pre-amp, bi-power amp, somewhat bulky speakers, etc.). my new tv is the 60xbr800, and due to the existing 2 channel speakers, i do not wish that the new HT sound system's speakers be overly bulky: 6 speakers (incl subwoofer) plus my existing 2 speakers is a bit much for any living room. i intend to only use this new system for tv and radio listening only, since i have my existing 2 channel stereo for all CD listening.

my initial thoughts are: a simple, high quality, run of the mill receiver like the denon 3803, no nonsense, does the trick. speakers may be either B&W, PSB, NHT, or Paradigm, with either their own subwoofer, or, an SVS, Hsu, or Velodyne.

B&W would likely be: 601S3 for front L and R, LCR 60S3 (the 600S3 is too high for the silly Sony stand for my 60xbr800, which only allows 7 1/4 inches of height) for the front center, and the 600S3 for the rear L and R. i was informed that the front center does 70% of the "work" in any home theater application, and that i should consider the LCR 600S3. is there much truth in that? wouldn't the LCR 60S3, while smaller, be more than adequate? while i'm a fussy good sound lover, i've never owned a tv sound system so anything would be fantastic compared with the tv's own speakers, but then again, this upgrade should be satisfying, and not a regret after a few weeks due to my sensitivity to good sound.