AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
5,786 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete newbie to CRT projectors looking for some advice.... (I do have a LCD projector so Im not new to them just CRT PJ's..)

Anyways, my brother got a barco data 600 off ebay and when he brought it home we were suprised to find the guns didnt fire when we tried to send the test patterns to the projector. This PJ only has bnc connectors so he bought a VGA-> BNC cable so we could see if it was just in a "sleep" mode or something... Anyways the VGA hooked to my laptop wont fire either but there is a signal on the laptop or I wouldnt be able to turn on the VGA OUT on my laptop.

Is there a special procedure or maybe a button I am missing? There are lights on inside the projector (led's) but the guns wont fire....

· Registered
445 Posts
yer gonna need either a RCVDS 400 switcher, or what many refer to as a "little white box" with little knobs and switches on it that attaches to that 9-pin (?) socket next to the BNC's. I had a pic somewhere of one. Will look for it later and post a link to it.

Either item shows up on Ebay now and then.

- Chris

· Registered
445 Posts
That's it!

Found my picture of the little white box, but need to upload it to webspace and haven't re-installed my software for that yet. They usually go for around $50 - $70. I have one, but I need it.

You'll have to do a search for what these external things do, other than allow a signal to pass (though they can control things like brightness, contrast, etc.)

- Chris

· Registered
968 Posts
Does the projector even make electrical noise like its powering up when you press the power switch? Does it sound like high voltage is building up with little static sounding crackling noises around the tubes? I think you should be hearing that even if you don't get a picture.