AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to computers so please forgive my lack of pc knowledge so can someone tell me how i hook up my pc to my projector? My projector has a computer input (rs-232) input and my pc has a dvd rom drive power dvd software and runs a p3 866 processor what else do I need to run the two together?

Cheers Steve.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Hi steve,

I to have a Barco 708, i have only had it around 5 weeks, but i have learned alot from this forum and also the British AV forum

Which is here

What you will need a cable to connect the VGA output of your PC which is a

15 pin high density D sub ( which is the same as the the monitor connection) to 5 BNC’s. ( R.G.B.+Hsync +Vsync)

all thought your 708 only has 1 sync which is a composite sync, the pc will output RGB + Horizontal sync + Vertical sync,

What I have done as a temporary solution is to T the Horizontal and the Vertical sync signals into the Composite sync input on the Barco which is label S, this would not be classed as permanent ,what you need is the VGA interface or similar or you could use this
VGA sync combiner

Hope this help.

Steve

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Steve, Thanks for the reply do you know of any graphics cards that allow you to pass a composite sync signal?

Cheers Steve.

·
Registered
839 Posts
Yes, the Matrox and ATI based cards are capable of outputting directly a composite sync signal. You'll probably need Powerstrip to activate this but this will allow you a direct connection without converter/manual combination of H+V and such. For short, any Radeon will do or Matrox G550 ..

I'm doing this myself with a G400 directed to a Sony 1031QM projector.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Thanks Yvonus,

This is good news,

I have had silly prices for interface boxes one was (£700)($1000),